Design-In-Expertise And Service
Search for ...
globsearch_:
Manufacturer Category Article Free text

Micro Crystal – Advantages of RTC Modules for nearly all applications

Micro Crystal has always been involved in watch making as part of the Swatch Group. In the previous couple of years, this experience has been used in the design of new integrated RTC modules to provide the developer with the key advantages in system design in terms of


  • time accuracy (also versus temperature)

 

  • power consumption optimization

 

  • reliability and long-term stability

 

  • space saving designs

 

Optimization of current consumption

In a large number of applications, at least one of these advantages is essential. Whether it is a mobile medical product, carried close to the body at constant temperature, for which no costs can be invested for a calibration of the accuracy in production but has the need for high accuracy (RV-3028-C7 / RV-5028-C7), or the sensor node of an IoT or metering application that needs an accurate time base despite temperature changes in order to connect to its infrastructure for data exchange at the right time (RV-3032-C7) – both applications require the lowest possible power consumption in order to avoid frequent battery changes by the user or to meet the replacement intervals for smart meters with safety margin or smaller battery.

Optimal matching is achieved by integrating and matching the crystal and RTC IC at Micro Crystal. Today, this makes it possible to achieve current consumption values of only 45nA@3V for time-keeping (RV-3028-C7) and to require only 160nA current consumption when temperature compensation to +/-3ppm (-40°C to +85°C) is realized (RV-3032-C7).


System cost optimization

An RTC module may be more expensive than a clock crystal, but it is always worth taking a look at the system to see what cost savings and technical improvements are possible in your application. Whether it is the conversion of a THT design to pure SMD technology (significantly lower assembly costs) because required buffer capacitors can be dimensioned much smaller or the choice of a standard battery size are only two of the advantages in such a consideration in terms of power consumption optimization.


 

We will be happy to advise you on the selection from the currently 15 recommended derivatives of Microcrystal’s RTC modules to meet your core design criteria and application needs – a current delivery time of 12-14 weeks may also be such a parameter

    Please contact me by

    I'm intressted in:

    QuotationVisitDatasheetSamplesOthers

Design-In-Expertise And Service
Suchen nach ...
globsearch_:
Hersteller Kategorie Artikel Freitext

Micro Crystal – Vorteile der RTC Module für nahezu jede Anwendung

Micro Crystal ist als Teil der Swatch Group seit je her mit Uhren beschäftigt. In den letzten Jahren wurde diese Erfahrung bei der Entwicklung neuer integrierter RTC Module genutzt, um den Entwicklern beim Systemdesign die entscheidenden Vorteile in Bezug auf


  • Zeitganggenauigkeit (auch vs. Temperatur)

 

  • Strombedarfsoptimierung

 

  • Zuverlässigkeit und Langzeitstabilität

 

  • platzsparende Designs

 

zu ermöglichen.

Strombedarfsoptimierung

In einer Großzahl von Anwendungen ist mindestens einer dieser Vorteile von Belang. Sei es beim mobilen medizinischen Produkt, getragen am Körper, für das keine Kosten für eine Kalibrierung der Ganggenauigkeit in der Produktion investiert werden können und doch nicht auf diese verzichtet werden soll (RV-3028-C7 / RV-5028-C7), oder der Sensorknoten einer IoT oder Metering-Anwendung, der trotz Temperaturwechsel eine genaue Zeitbasis benötigt um sich zur richtigen Zeit mit seiner Infrastruktur zum Datenaustausch zu verbinden (RV-3032-C7) – beide Anwendungen verlangen einen möglichst geringen Strombedarf, um den Anwendern oft einen Batteriewechsel zu ersparen bzw. die Tauschintervalle für Zähler mit Sicherzeit zu erreichen.

 

Durch die Integration und Anpassung von Quarz und RTC IC bei Micro Crystal wird eine optimale Anpassung erreicht. Dies ermöglicht heute Strombedarfswerte von nur 45nA@3V fürs Time-Keeping (RV-3028-C7) zu erreichen oder mit Temperaturkompensation auf +/-3ppm (-40°C bis +85°C) nur 160nA Stromaufnahme (RV-3032-C7) zu benötigen.


Systemkostenoptimierung

Ein RTC Modul mag in den Kosten über einem Uhrenquarz liegen,advantages of RTC modules jedoch lohnt sich immer eine Systembetrachtung, welche Kosteneinsparungen und technischen Verbesserungen in der Anwendung möglich werden. Sei es die Umstellung eines THT Designs auf reine SMD Technologie (deutlich günstigere Bestückungskosten), da benötigte Pufferkondensatoren viel kleiner bemessen werden können oder die Wahl einer Standard-Batteriegröße. Dies sind nur zwei der Vorteile in einer solchen Betrachtung in Bezug auf die Strombedarfsoptimierung.

 


 

Wir beraten Sie gern bei der Auswahl aus den aktuell 15 empfohlenen Derivaten der RTC Module von Micro Crystal bezüglich Ihrer Kernanforderung und Anwendungsspezifikation – eine aktuelle Lieferzeit von 12-14 Wochen kann ebenfalls ein solches Kriterium sein.

    Bitte kontaktieren Sie mich zu oben genannten Thema per

    Ich bin interessiert an:

    AngebotBesuchsterminDatenblattMusterSonstiges