Design-In-Expertise And Service
Search for ...
globsearch_:
Manufacturer Category Article Free text

ST – ST25R3916 – The NFC Allrounder

The ST25R3916 is the successor of the proven NFC reader chip ST25R3911B.

Whether stationary access control/time recording via NFC transponder or smartphone, mobile application in logistics, ticketing system, POS or wireless firmware update in the production process, whether as reader/writer or in peer-to-peer operation – the ST25R3916 is the IC of choice!

Thanks to automatic antenna tuning (AAT), it adapts optimally to the environment (metal frame, reinforced concrete wall…). This eliminates the need for time-consuming adjustments depending on the installation situation or performance losses in mobile applications.

Dynamic Power Output (DPO) for field strength adjustment, Active Wave Shaping (AWS), Noise Reduction (NSR), Automatic Gain Control (AGC) and Squelch minimise interference radiation, optimise sensitivity and minimise power consumption drastically. The inductive (card detection) and especially the capacitive wake-up function also helps here. So the reader only needs a few microamperes in standby and is only woken up when someone is approaching.

Other features at a glance

Features

  • NFC-A/B/F/V
  • Low level mode for MIFARE Classic® or customer specific implementation
  • EMVCo 3.0 compatible
  • Active and passive low power operation as NFC target
  • Adjustable ASK modulation depth
  • AM/PM and I/Q demodulator with baseband channel summation or automatic channel selection
  • Optional 2-antenna operation
  • Measurement of antenna signal amplitude and phase, RSSI
  • Integrated voltage regulator

Interfaces

  • 512-byte FIFO
  • SPI up to 10 Mbit/s
  • I2C (up to 400 kbit/s in Fast-mode, 1 Mbit/s in Fast-mode Plus, 3.4 Mbit/s in High-speed mode)

Operating conditions

  • Vcc 2.6 to 5.5 V at -40 °C to +105 °C
  • I/O communication from 1.65 to 5.5 V
  • Crystal 27.12 MHz (fast start-up)

The numerous improvements such as higher receive sensitivity, improved noise suppression, improved output stage, more interfaces, larger FIFO, EMD suppression in hardware and much more caused a change of the chip layout so that the devices are no longer fully pin-compatible. The Application Note AN 5309 deals with the differences compared to the previous version ST25R3911B and gives tips for switching to the new device.

A version with a reduced functionality, called ST25R3917, is available for very cost-sensitive applications.


For more information, samples and tools please contact your INELTEK team.

    Please contact me by

    I'm intressted in:

    QuotationVisitDatasheetSamplesOthers

Design-In-Expertise And Service
Suchen nach ...
globsearch_:
Hersteller Kategorie Artikel Freitext

ST – ST25R3916 – Der NFC Alleskönner

ST25R3916 – Der NFC Alleskönner ist der Nachfolger des bewährten NFC Reader Chips ST25R3911B (AS3911B).

Ganz gleich, ob stationäre Zugangskontrolle/Zeiterfassung mittels NFC Transponder oder Smartphone, ob mobile Anwendung in der Logistik, Ticketing System, POS oder drahtloses Firmware-Update im Produktionsprozess , ob als Reader/Writer oder im Peer to Peer Betrieb – der ST25R3916 ist das IC der Wahl!

Dank automatischem Antennen-Tuning (AAT) passt er sich der Umgebung (Metallträger, Stahlbetonwand…) optimal an. Es entfallen also aufwendige Anpassungen je nach Einbausituation oder Performance-Verluste bei mobilen Anwendungen.

Dynamic Power Output (DPO) zur Feldstärke-Anpassung, Active Wave Shaping (AWS), Noise Reduction (NSR), Automatic Gain Control (AGC) und Squelch minimieren die Störabstrahlung, optimieren die Empfindlichkeit und minimieren den Strombedarf enorm. Hierbei unterstützt auch die induktive (Card Detection) und besonders die kapazitive Wake-Up Funktion. So kommt der Reader im Standby mit wenigen Mikroampere aus und wird erst bei Annäherung geweckt.

Weitere Features im Überblick

Features

  • NFC-A/B/F/V
  • Low Level Modus für MIFARE Classic® oder kundenspezifische Implementierung
  • EMVCo 3.0 kompatibel
  • Aktiver und passiver Low power Betrieb als NFC Target
  • Einstellbare ASK Modulationstiefe
  • AM/PM und I/Q Demodulator mit baseband channel summation oder automatischer Kanalwahl
  • Optionaler 2-Antennen.Betrieb
  • Messung der Antennen-Signalamplitude und Phase, RSSI
  • Integrierte Spannungsregler

 

Interfaces

  • 512-byte FIFO
  • SPI bis 10 Mbit/s
  • I2C (bis 400 kbit/s in Fast-mode, 1 Mbit/s in Fast-mode Plus, 3.4 Mbit/s im High-speed mode)

Betriebsbedingungen

  • Vcc 2.6 bis 5.5 V bei -40 °C bis +105 °C
  • I/O Kommunikation von 1.65 bis 5.5 V
  • Quarz 27.12 MHz (fast start-up)

 

Die zahlreichen Verbesserungen wie höhere Empfangsempfindlichkeit, verbesserte Störunterdrückung, verbesserte Ausgangsstufe, mehr Interfaces, größerer FIFO, EMD Unterdrückung in Hardware u.v.m. gaben Anlass für ein geändertes Chip-Layout, so dass die Bausteine nicht mehr voll pin-kompatibel sind. Die Application Note AN 5309 behandelt die Unterschiede gegenüber der Vorläuferversion ST25R3911B und gibt Tipps zum Umstieg auf den neuen Baustein.

 

Eine im Funktionsumfang reduzierte Version mit der Bezeichnung ST25R3917 steht für besonders kostensensitive Anwendungen zur Verfügung.


Nähere Informaionen, Muster und Tools erhalten Sie wie immer bei Ihrem INELTEK Team.

    Bitte kontaktieren Sie mich zu oben genannten Thema per

    Ich bin interessiert an:

    AngebotBesuchsterminDatenblattMusterSonstiges