Design-In-Expertise And Service
Search for ...
globsearch_:
Manufacturer Category Article Free text

Espressif – Next Wireless-SoC Generation ESP32-H2 and ESP32-C6

Espressif is continuously developing new innovative SoC platforms to support the different and ever changing requirements of the connected world. Besides different classes of computing power for e.g. AI applications in the field of image recognition down to simple serial wireless transmission, this also applies to be prepared for future trends for wireless applications.


In addition to the ESP32-S3 and ESP32-C3 (first SOC with RISC-V architecture) which are currently being launched, Espressif has now introduced the ESP32-C6 (RISC-V + Wi-Fi6 + BLE 5.0) and the ESP32-H2 (802.15.4 + BLE 5.2).


Why are these two new platforms interesting?


In terms of the ESP32-C6 see the following short specification first:

  • 32bit RISC-V core running up to 160MHz.
  • 384kB ROM and 400kB SRAM integrated
  • 22 GPIOs
  • ADC, SPI, UART, I2C, I2S, RMT, TWAI and PWM
  • 2.4 GHz radio supports WiFi 6 (802.11ax)

The real advantage comes from compatibility with the 802.11ax standard (Wi-Fi 6), which, in addition to backward compatibility with the 802.11b/g/n standards, also offers the new functions for implementing low-power sensor networks. For these applications, the configuration of the newly introduced “target wake-up time” (TWT) opens up the possibility for the device and access point to agree on a specific time up to 5 years in the future for the next data exchange. The advantage here is that in the meantime the device does not have to remain associated with the AP as in previous Wi-Fi standards, and can thus significantly reduce the average power consumption.


Another innovation is the use of the OFDMA method. This divides an access point channel into resource units so that communication with multiple clients / devices is possible over one channel. This also allows devices with a lower data volume in environments with many other devices to get a timeslot for its data transfer.


For applications that have no need for a Wi-Fi interface, the other SoC comes into focus:


Based on the IEEE 802.15.4 standard, the ESP32-H2 addresses solutions based on Thread and Zigbee. Furthermore, there shall be the option that the matter protocol is fully supported. This ensures interoperability for next generation smart home devices based on the ESP32-H2.

More details about this SoC:

  • RISC-V core running up to 96MHz

  • 256kB integrated SRAM
  • 26 GPIOs
  • peripherals similar to ESP32-C6 (ADC, Serial-IF, PWM,…)
  • Integrated DC/DC converter for energy efficient solutions
  • BLE 5.2 Subsystem

With the BLE 5.2 subsystem Espressif enables the realization of low-power audio applications without having the need to switch to Bluetooth Classic.

Both SoCs require external flash. With its XTS-AES-128 engine for content encryption of the external memory the SoC keeps your IP protected. This is only one element of the wide range of features to realize secure communication and solutions with this SoCs.


Our team will be happy to advise you on the current possibilities of the Espressif SoC families. Please contact us for more information about the SoCs presented here


    Please contact me by

    I'm intressted in:

    QuotationVisitDatasheetSamplesOthers

Design-In-Expertise And Service
Suchen nach ...
globsearch_:
Hersteller Kategorie Artikel Freitext

Espressif – Nächste Funk-SoC Generationen ESP32-H2 und ESP32-C6

Kontinuierlich entwickelt Espressif neue innovative SoC-Plattformen um die verschiedenen und sich ständig ändernden Anforderungen der vernetzen Welt zu unterstützen. Neben unterschiedlichen Klassen der Rechenleistung für z.B. KI-Anwendungen im Bereich der Bilderkennung bis hinunter zur einfachen seriellen Drahtlosübertragung, gilt dies auch um auf zukünftige Trends für drahtlose Applikationen vorbereitet zu sein.


Neben den sich aktuell in der Markteinführung befindlichen ESP32-S3 und ESP32-C3 (erstes SOC mit RISC-V Architektur) hat Espressif nun den ESP32-C6 (RISC-V + Wi-Fi6 + BLE 5.0) und den ESP32-H2 (802.15.4 + BLE 5.2) vorgestellt.


Warum sind diese beiden neuen Plattformen interessant?


Im Hinblick auf den ESP32-C6 zuerst die Kurzspezifikation:

  • 32bit RISC-V Core unterstützt Taktfrequenzen bis 160MHz
  • 384kB ROM und 400kB SRAM integriert
  • 22 GPIOs
  • ADC, SPI, UART, I2C, I2S, RMT, TWAI und PWM
  • 2,4 GHz Radio unterstützt WiFi 6 (802.11ax)

Der eigentliche Vorteil erwächst aus der Kompatibilität zum 802.11ax Standard (Wi-Fi 6), der neben der Abwärtskompatibilität zu den 802.11b/g/n Standards auch die neuen Funktionen für die Realisierung von Low-Power Sensornetzwerken bietet. Für diese Anwendungen eröffnet die Konfiguration der neu eingeführten „target wake-up time“ (TWT) die Möglichkeit, dass sich Gerät und Access-Point auf einen bestimmten Zeitpunkt von bis zu 5 Jahren in der Zukunft für den nächsten Datenaustausch verständigen. Hierbei besteht der Vorteil, dass zwischenzeitlich das Gerät nicht wie in den vorangegangenen Wi-Fi Standards mit dem AP assoziiert bleiben muss und kann so den mittleren Strombedarf deutlich reduzieren.


Weitere Neuerung ist die Verwendung des OFDMA-Verfahrens. Dieses teilt einen Access-Point-Kanal in Ressourceneinheiten auf, so dass eine Kommunikation mit mehreren Clients / Geräten über einen Kanal möglich wird. Dadurch kommen auch Geräte mit einem geringeren Datenaufkommen in Umgebungen mit vielen weiteren Geräten bei einer Datenübertragung zum Zug.


Für Anwendungen, die keinen Bedarf für eine Wi-Fi Schnittstelle haben, kommt der weitere SoC ins Spiel:

Der ESP32-H2 adressiert basierend auf dem IEEE 802.15.4 Standard Lösungen basierend auf Thread und Zigbee. Darüber hinaus soll es die Option geben, dass das matter Protokoll vollständig unterstützt wird. Hierdurch ist die Interoperabilität für Smart Home Geräte der nächsten Generation basierend auf dem ESP32-H2 sichergestellt.



Weitere Details zu diesem SoC:

  • RISC-V Core unterstützt Frequenzen bis 96MHz
  • 256kB integriertes SRAM
  • 26 GPIOs
  • Sonstige Peripherien vergleichbar mit
    ESP32-C6
  • Integrierter DC/DC Wandler für Energie effiziente Lösungen
  • BLE 5.2 Subsystem

Mit dem BLE 5.2 Subsystem ermöglicht Espressif die Realisierung von Low-Power Audio Anwendungen ohne auf Bluetooth Classic ausweichen zu müssen.

Beide SoCs benötigen einen externen Flash und sorgen durch eine XTS-AES-128 Einheit zur Verschlüsselung des externen Speicherinhalts dafür, dass Ihre IP geschützt bleibt. Dies ist nur ein Element der breiten Ausstattung an Funktionen um sichere Kommunikation und Lösungen zu realisieren


Gern berät Sie unser Team zu den aktuellen Möglichkeiten der Espressif SoC Familien. Melden Sie sich bei uns um weitere Informationen zu den hier vorgestellten SoCs zu erhalten.


    Bitte kontaktieren Sie mich zu oben genannten Thema per

    Ich bin interessiert an:

    AngebotBesuchsterminDatenblattMusterSonstiges