Design-In-Expertise And Service
Search for ...
globsearch_:
Manufacturer Category Article Free text

An alternative I2C LCD driver approach with Dialog Semiconductor’s versatile GreenPAK™ ICs

 

Designing a simple LED segment display isn’t that hard. But in current times, every IC is harder to get. Reducing the need for specific ICs can help in designing such a solution and reduce the time-to-market, even in today’s situation!

Liquid Crystal Displays (LCD) are widely used for commercial and industrial applications because of their good visual properties, low cost and, low power consumption. These properties make the LCD the standard solution for battery-operated devices, like portable instruments, water or heat meters, calculators, watches, radios, etc.

However, to properly control what the LCD shows, the LCD’s electronic driver must generate appropriate voltage waveforms to LCD pins. The waveforms should be AC (alternate current) in nature because DC (direct current) voltages will permanently damage the display. The appropriate driver would generate and source these signals to LCD at a minimum of power consumption.


The GreenPAK™ ICs are configurable mixed-signal devices which inlude different function blocks (logic, I2C, oscillators, delay blocks, ADCs, GPIOs, …) depending on the derivate. More information on these ICs in general you will find later in this article.

Two types of LC displays exist, the static, with only one backplane and one pin for individual segment control and the multiplexed, with multiple backplanes and multiple segments connected for each pin.


Multiplex LCD Driver


According to the application note AN-CM-276, the SLG4AD43237V is a pre-defined application solution integrating 4 major functions for devices using low-cost 4-common x 8-segment multiplexed LCDs:


  • LCD Multiplex Driver
  • Display RAM (8 Byte)
  • Watchdog Timer
  • Button Reset

Dialog Semiconductor’s GreenPAK™ based I2C controlled LCD driver benefits are

  • Lower cost than conventional LCD drivers
  • Very short lead times, even now (around 14 weeks)
  • The smallest LCD controller from other vendors are often for min. 32 x 4 displays designed and come in bigger packages like QFN44
  • Enables use of MCUs with very few GPIOs and/or can be used to expand solutions with MCU having an integrated LCD driver
  • Watchdog starts with 2s time interval which can be reconfigured through I2C
  • Watchdog counter reset through I2C or GPIO

But thats not everything, if more segments are required


  • The maximum possible matrix right now is 6-common x 12-segment display using SLG46880/81
  • Voltage supervisor functions can be added
  • Button press sequences for multi-level reset functions

Static LCD Driver


In contrast to the multiplexed solution SLG4AD43237V mentioned at the beginning, the design of a static LCD driver using the GreenPAK™ device SLG46537V is presented below (AN-CM-256). The realized LCD driver drives up to 15 LCD segments, requiring only a few microamps of current from the power supply and providing an I2C interface for control.


A block diagram that illustrates the GreenPAK™ design. The basic blocks of the design are the I2C interface, the output segment driver, the internal oscillator, and the backplane clock source selector to apply also an external display clock source.



Read more about the GreenPAK™ IC Familly in 2 pages:


Contact us for more details on how GreenPAK™ ICs can be used to drive LCDs as well as the wide range of applications for this flexibly configurable IC family!


    Please contact me by

    I'm intressted in:

    QuotationVisitDatasheetSamplesOthers

Design-In-Expertise And Service
Suchen nach ...
globsearch_:
Hersteller Kategorie Artikel Freitext

Dialog Semiconductors – Alternative Realisierung von I2C LCD-Treiber mit GreenPAK™ ICs

Eine einfache LED-Segmentanzeige in einem Produkt zu realisieren geht schnell. Aber in der heutigen Zeit sind IC nahezu jeder Produktgruppe sehr schwer zu beschaffen. Die Reduzierung des Bedarfs an spezifischen ICs kann bei der Entwicklung einer solchen Lösung helfen und die Zeit bis zum Produktstart verkürzen!

Liquid Crystal Displays (LCD) werden wegen ihrer guten visuellen Eigenschaften, ihrer niedrigen Kosten und ihres geringen Stromverbrauchs häufig für kommerzielle und industrielle Anwendungen eingesetzt.

Diese Eigenschaften machen LCDs zur Standardlösung für batteriebetriebene Geräte, wie tragbare Instrumente, Wasser- / Stromzähler, Taschenrechner, Uhren, Radios usw.

Damit die LCD-Anzeige jedoch richtig gesteuert werden kann, muss der elektronische Treiber des LCD geeignete Spannungswellenformen für die LCD-Pins erzeugen. Dabei sollte es sich um Wechselspannungen (AC) handeln, da Gleichspannungen (DC) das Display dauerhaft beschädigen. Üblicher Weise findet ein geeigneter Treiber Einsatz der diese spezifischen Signale generiert und so LCD-Anzeigen mit minimalen Stromverbrauch ermöglicht.


Die GreenPAK™ ICs sind konfigurierbare Mixed-Signal Bausteine die je nach Derivat mit unterschiedlichen Funktionsblöcken (Logik, I2C, Oszillatoren, Delay-Blöcke, ADCs, GPIOs, …)  ausgestattet sind. Nähere Informationen dazu später in diesem Beitrag.

Es gibt zwei Arten von LCDs, die statischen mit nur einer Backplane und einem Pin für die individuelle Segmentsteuerung und Displays mit mehreren Backplanes die durch ein geschicktes Zeit-Multiplexverfahren mit reduzierter Pin Anzahl auskommt.


Multiplex LCD Driver


Gemäß der Applicationnote AN-CM-276 ist der SLG4AD43237V eine flexible direkt verfügbare (vorprogrammierte) Lösung, die 4 wichtige Funktionen für Geräte mit kostengünstigen 4-Common x 8-Segment-Multiplex-LCDs integriert:


  • LCD Multiplex Driver
  • Display RAM (8 Byte)
  • Watchdog Timer
  • Button Reset

Darüber hinaus sind die weiteren Vorteile dieses GreenPAK™ IC basierten I2C LCD-Treibers

  • Niedrigere Kosten als herkömmliche LCD-Treiber
  • Sehr geringe Lieferzeiten, auch in der heutigen Zeit (14 Wochen)
  • LCD-Controller anderer Hersteller sind für z.B. 32 x 4 Displays entwickelt und benötigen daher oft deutlich größere Gehäuse wie ein QFN-44
  • Ermöglicht den Einsatz von MCUs mit sehr wenigen GPIOs und/oder kann zur Erweiterung von Microcontrollern mit integrierten LCD Treiber verwendet werden
  • Watchdog mit 2s Zeitintervall, über I2C rekonfigurierbar
  • Rücksetzen des Watchdog-Zählers über I2C oder GPIO

Aber das ist nicht alles, wenn mehr Segmente benötigt werden:


  • Die maximal mögliche Matrix ist derzeit 6-fach x 12-Segment-Anzeige bei Verwendung eines SLG46880/81
  • Spannungsüberwachungsfunktionen optional realisierbar
  • Tastendrucksequenzen für mehrstufige Reset-Funktionen

Statische LCD Driver


Im Gegensatz zur eingangs erwähnten Multiplex Lösung SLG4AD43237V wird nachfolgend das Design eines statischen LCD-Treibers mit dem GreenPAK™-Baustein SLG46537V vorgestellt (AN-CM-256). Der realisierte LCD-Treiber steuert bis zu 15 LCD-Segmente an, wobei er nur wenige Mikroampere Strom von der Stromversorgung benötigt und eine I2C-Schnittstelle zur Steuerung bietet.


Ein Blockdiagramm unten veranschaulicht ein solches Design. Die grundlegenden Blöcke des Entwurfs sind die I2C-Schnittstellen Block, als Segmenttreiber konfigurierte GPIOs, der interne Oszillator und ein Umschalter um auch eine Externe Displaytaktzuführung zu ermöglichen.



Lesen Sie hier mehr über GreenPAK™ auf 2 Seiten:


Kontaktieren Sie uns über weitere Details, wie GreenPAK™ ICs für die Ansteuerung von LCDs verwendet werden können sowie die vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten dieser flexibel konfigurierbaren IC Familie!


    Bitte kontaktieren Sie mich zu oben genannten Thema per

    Ich bin interessiert an:

    AngebotBesuchsterminDatenblattMusterSonstiges