Epson Shipping Samples of New Real-Time Clock Modules with Embedded DTCXO

New modules consume 50% less current than earlier comparable modules and have a larger operating temperature range

Munich, March 12, 2018 – Seiko Epson Corporation (TSE: 6724, “Epson”), the world leader in quartz crystal technology, today introduced the RA8804CE and RX8804CE, two new real-time clock (RTC1) modules with built-in digital temperature-compensated crystal oscillators (DTCXO2).180305_2_l

The new RTC modules are housed in Epson’s smallest-ever RTC package (maximum dimensions: 3.2 x 2.5 x 1.0t mm). The RA8804CE is designed for AEC-Q100-compliant3 automotive applications, while the RX8804CE is designed for industry systems. Both provide high-accuracy timekeeping in electronic systems while meeting the need for a small form factor and low current consumption.

Today’s industrial equipment, such as smart grid equipment, click-charge systems, security systems, and countless other systems and applications run based on time information, so accurate keeping is a must. High-accuracy tracking of time and date information is also needed in equipment that is installed in vehicles, outdoors, and other environments where systems are exposed to ambient temperature extremes. Moreover, there is a growing need for RTC modules that consume less current and remain frequency-stable over a wider temperature range due to accelerating integration and downsizing of electronic equipment and a growing desire on the part of companies to reduce their environmental footprints.
180305_l
In general, however, higher accuracy tends to come at the price of higher power consumption, making it difficult to maintain or improve the accuracy of real-time clocks, which are built by combining a crystal unit, oscillation circuit, and timekeeping IC. For the new modules, Epson succeeded in reducing the power consumption and expanding the operating temperature range of the new modules. This was achieved by fabricating tiny, accurate tuning fork crystal units and using a new circuit design that enables the crystal unit to be driven at low power.

The new RA8804CE and RX8804CE consume 0.35 µA of current, which is 50% less than the 0.7 µA consumed by the RX8900CE (an earlier equivalent Epson RTC module). The maximum operating temperature was expanded from 85°C to 105°C. In addition, these modules are equipped with an expanded number of programmable interrupt functions4, a time stamp, and 24-bit timer. These new functions lighten the load on the CPU.

Epson individually adjusts and guarantees the timekeeping accuracy of modules at the factory. This renders checking of timekeeping accuracy unnecessary and helps to increase design efficiency and quality.

Going forward, Epson will continue to leverage its unique technologies to provide customers with reliable, easy-to-use, industry-leading crystal device products.

Main Specifications

Product number RA8804CE, RX8804CE
Temperature-compensated operating voltage 1.5 V (Min.)
Clock supply voltage 1.5 V (Min.)
Timekeeping current 0.35 µA (Typ.)
Frequency stability -40°C to +85°C XA: ±3.4×10-6
XB: ±5.0×10-6
Frequency stability
+85°C to +105°C
±8.0×10-6
Operating temperature range -40°C to +105°C
Interface I2C (400 kHz)
Automotive standard conformance RA8804CE: AEC-Q100
RX8804CE: —
External dimensions (mm) 3.2 x 2.5 x 1.0t (Max.)

 

New Features

  • Additional interrupt: SOUT
  • Time stamp with trigger input
  • 24-bit timer (from 244 µs to up to 32 years)

 

1: A real-time clock module is a single-package product that has a real-time clock IC with clock, calendar, and other functions and an integrated 32,768-kHz crystal unit. These modules not only benefit users by eliminating the need to design oscillator circuits and adjust clock accuracy, their small size and level of integration also allow customers to use their board space more efficiently.

2: A digital temperature-compensated X’tal (crystal) oscillator is an oscillator (crystal unit and oscillation circuit) with a function that applies corrections to frequencies, which change in response to the ambient temperature of the crystal unit. To output a stable frequency within a range of temperatures, TCXOs have a circuit that compensates the output frequency based on signals from a temperature sensor. DTCXOs use a circuit to digitally compensate the frequency.

3: The Automotive Electronics Council (AEC) is an industry group that creates standards for the reliability and qualification of automotive electronics. It was formed by the “Big Three” U.S. automobile manufacturers in partnership with major electronic component manufacturers. AEC-Qxxx is a de facto global standard that has been widely adopted as a standard for automotive electronic devices.

4: The RA8804 and RX8804 is equipped with an SOUT pin to provide far greater options for interrupt functions than the comparable Epson module. The SOUT pin outputs the value for a selected flag, such as a voltage detection flag, a time update flag, or an EVIN detection flag. The SOUT pin can also be used as a general-purpose output port whose high/low output can be specified with software, so the optimal operation for a given system can be set with software.
Notes:

Please see the link below for further details.
RA8804CE: www5.epsondevice.com/en/products/rtc/ra8804ce.html
RX8804CE: www5.epsondevice.com/en/products/rtc/rx8804ce.html

To receive even more information like technical data sheets, samples, EVBs or price information please contact an Ineltek office within your area or contact us at info@ineltek.com.


  • Submit to our newsletter and receive monthly news on our latest publications:


    Subscribe now!

    Please find all current news in our News Archiv Newsarchive


News

Online-Shop
Ineltek auf Youtube
Recent Popular Info

Total subscribers:
9

Total uploads:
48

Total upload views:
952

Direktanfrage
Technische Anfrage
Termine

Epson bringt neue Echtzeituhr-Module mit Integriertem DTCXO auf den Markt

Die neuen Module verbrauchen 50% weniger Strom als frühere vergleichbare Module und verfügen über einen größeren Betriebstemperaturbereich

München, 12. März 2018 – Seiko Epson Corporation (TSE: 6724, „Epson“), ein führender Hersteller von Taktgebern und Oszillatoren, hat heute die Echtzeituhren-Module RA8804CE und RX8804CE vorgestellt, zwei neue Echtzeituhr-Module (RTC1) mit eingebauten digitalen temperaturkompensierten Quarzoszillatoren (DTCXO2).

180305_2_lDie neuen RTC-Module sind in einem 3,2 x 2,5 x 1,0t mm kleinen Gehäuse untergebracht. Das RA8804CE wurde für Automobilanwendungen, die AEC-Q100 erfüllen3, entwickelt, während das RX8804CE auf industrielle Anwendungen zugeschnitten ist. Beide bieten eine hochpräzise Zeitnahme in elektronischen Systemen und entsprechen dabei den Anforderungen an eine kleine Bauform und niedrigen Stromverbrauch.

Moderne industrielle Anwendungen, wie Smart-Grid, Click-Charge-Systeme, Sicherheitssysteme und zahllose andere Systeme und Anwendungen funktionieren auf der Basis von Zeitinformationen, weshalb präzise Zeitnahme eine unbedingte Voraussetzung ist. Die hochpräzise Erfassung von Zeit- und Datumsinformationen ist ebenfalls bei Geräten erforderlich, die in Fahrzeugen, in der freien Natur sowie in anderen Umgebungen installiert sind, wo diese Systeme extremen Umgebungstemperaturen ausgesetzt sind. Außerdem besteht ein wachsender Bedarf an RTC-Modulen, die weniger Strom verbrauchen und über einen größeren Temperaturbereich eine stabile Frequenz aufweisen, um der immer schnelleren Integration und Größenreduzierung von elektronischen Geräten sowie dem zunehmenden Wunsch der Unternehmen nach einer Reduzierung ihres Umwelteinflusses gerecht zu werden.

Im Allgemeinen ist jedoch der Preis für eine höhere Präzision in der Regel ein höherer Energieverbrauch, was es schwierig macht, die Präzision von Echtzeituhren, die einen Schwingquarz, eine Oszillatorschaltung sowie eine integrierte Schaltung zur Zeitnahme kombinieren, beizubehalten oder zu verbessern. Bei den neuen Modulen gelang es Epson, den Stromverbrauch zu reduzieren und den Betriebstemperaturbereich der neuen Module zu vergrößern. Dazu wurden winzige, präzise Stimmgabel-Schwingquarze entwickelt und ein neuer Schaltungsaufbau verwendet, der es möglich macht, den Schwingquarz bei niedrigem Stromverbrauch zu betreiben.180305_l

Die neuen RA8804CE und RX8804CE Module verbrauchen 0,35 µA Strom, was einer Reduzierung von 50% gegenüber dem Verbrauch des RX8900CE von 0,7 µA entspricht (ein früheres gleichwertiges Epson RTC Modul). Die maximale Betriebstemperatur wurde von 85°C auf 105°C erweitert. Außerdem sind diese Module mit einer größeren Anzahl programmierbarer Interrupt-Funktionen4, einem Zeitstempel und einem 24-Bit Timer ausgestattet. Diese neuen Funktionen verringern die Belastung der CPU.

Epson stellt die Ganggenauigkeit der Module im Werk ein und garantiert diese. Dies macht ein Überprüfen der Ganggenauigkeit überflüssig und trägt zu einer verbesserten Konstruktionseffizienz und Qualität bei.

Epson wird auch künftig daran arbeiten seine einzigartige Technik dafür einzusetzen, seine Kunden mit leicht bedienbaren quarz-basierenden Taktgebern zu versorgen, die in ihrer Branche führend sind.

Spezifikationen

Produktnummer RA8804CE, RX8804CE
Betriebsspannung 1.5 V (Min.)
Stromaufnahme 0.35 µA (Typ.)
Frequenzstabilität
-40°C bis +85°C
XA: ±3.4×10-6
XB: ±5.0×10-6
Frequenzstabilität
+85°C bis +105°C
±8.0×10-6
Betriebstemperaturbereich -40°C to +105°C
Schnittstelle I2C (400 kHz)
Unterstützende Automobilstandards RA8804CE: AEC-Q100
RX8804CE: —
Abmessungen (mm) 3.2 x 2.5 x 1.0t (Max.)

 

Neue Eigenschaften

  • Zusätzliches Interrupt: SOUT
  • Zeitstempel mit Trigger-Eingang
  • 24-Bit Timer (von 244 µs bis zu 32 Jahren)

 

1: Ein Echtzeit-Uhrmodul ist eine Paketlösung, die eine Echtzeituhrschaltung mit Uhr, Kalender und anderen Funktionen sowie einen integrierten 32,768kHz Schwingquarz beinhaltet. Diese Module sind für den Kunden nicht nur dadurch von Vorteil, dass sie die Konstruktion von Oszillatorschaltungen sowie die Anpassung der Uhrgenauigkeit überflüssig machen, sondern ermöglichen durch ihre geringe Größe und ihren Integrationsgrad eine effizientere Platznutzung in der Anwendung.

2: Ein digitaler temperaturkompensierter quarzgesteuerter Oszillator ist ein Oszillator (Schwingquarz und Oszillatorschaltung) mit einer Funktion, die Korrekturen an Frequenzen vornimmt, die sich aufgrund der Umgebungstemperatur des Schwingquarzes verändert haben. Um eine stabile Frequenz innerhalb eines Temperaturbereichs auszugeben, besitzen TCXOs eine Schaltung, die die Ausgabefrequenz basierend auf Signalen eines Temperatursensors kompensiert. DTCXOs verwenden eine elektronische Schaltung, um die Frequenz digital zu kompensieren.

3: Das Automotive Electronics Council (AEC) ist eine Branchengruppe, die Standards für Zuverlässigkeit und Qualifizierung von Elektronikkomponenten für Automobile schafft. Es wurde von den „Großen Drei“ US Automobilherstellern in Zusammenarbeit mit den wichtigsten Herstellern von Elektronikkomponenten aufgebaut. AEC-Qxxx ist ein weltweiter De-facto-Standard, der allgemein als ein Standard für Elektronikanwendungen in der Automobilindustrie anerkannt ist.

4: Die RA8804 und RX8804 Module sind mit einem SOUT-Pin versehen, der deutlich mehr Optionen für Interrupt-Funktionen bietet als das vergleichbare Epson-Modul. Der SOUT-Pin gibt den Wert für ein ausgewähltes Flag, ein Zeitaktualisierungsflag oder ein Event-Erkennungsflag aus. Der SOUT-Pin kann auch als programmierbarer Ausgang verwendet werden.

Mehr Information finden Sie auch auf den folgenden Links.
RA8804CE: www5.epsondevice.com/en/products/rtc/ra8804ce.html
RX8804CE: www5.epsondevice.com/en/products/rtc/rx8804ce.html

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter info@ineltek.com.

Online-Shop
Ineltek auf Youtube
Recent Popular Info

Total subscribers:
6

Total uploads:
48

Total upload views:
863

Direktanfrage
Technische Anfrage
Termine